Going to meet the owners

Posted on March 2, 2010

0



It’s Tuesday 2nd March, about 4 o’clock in the afternoon, and I’ve got my first appointment to meet the owners of the Aqueduct Spring source that we announced in January.   I’m kind of scared and on-edge, and I’ve asked a representative of the local archaeological society to come with me.

The Aqueduct Source is hidden ‘under’ a church in a wood in agricultural land north of Rome, and whilst we’ve been there many times before with the local council representatives and water engineers, we’ve never so far actually met the owners, which I feel is a bit lax.
La Chiesa della Fiora da sopra

Santa Fiora Church from above 2009

My personal preference for many months has been to try to ingratiate ourselves with the people who have been taking care of the beautiful monument for so many years and go there with their permission, but unfortunately, we have visited here previously with people who tend to ride roughshod over them.
Today, hopefully, we’re going to change that.   I have an appointment at 18:00 with either the owner’s son or grandson, I’m not quite sure which.
We shall see!
Posted in: Uncategorized